Too Hot For Kindle?

I don’t know how this is going to turn out but it seems that our novels have been banned from being sold on Kindle.

You see, what happened was Nevi asked me to redo the covers to better feature her artwork.  I didn’t see a problem with this.  I was somewhat frustrated that we had these big, beautiful paintings but the only way to make them work on the cover design tool provided by Create Space was to so a weird zoom in on the faces.  This cut out a good two thirds of the paintings but I didn’t have the tools to make the covers myself and I wasn’t about to pay someone in the neighborhood of $100 to do what I could take care of myself for little to no out of pocket expense.

Recently, I acquired the program to make the covers the way they existed in my mind.  When I had a break from editing and writing, I put them together (and created a template so all of our Parliament of Twilight books have a uniform look.)  When I uploaded them to KDP, they had to undergo a review process and be re-published.  Okay, fine.  But then I received an email stating that our books had violated their content guidelines.  Which is a very vague way of saying that we have either used copyrighted material (which I know we haven’t) OR we offended the delicate sensibilities of someone at KDP.  I’m still waiting to find out what it is they think I’ve done.

And now we're blocked on KDP and can't make changes to fix whatever it is they think is wrong.

And now we’re blocked on KDP and can’t make changes to fix whatever it is they think is wrong.

The most frustrating part of this is that the books have been up for months.  We were just starting to get an influx of reviews and sales.  People are starting to notice us.  Now, I can’t sell our Kindle books (even though the paperbacks are apparently just fine), which have been our main source of sales since the beginning.  *sigh*  Guess I’ll have to find a way to make Smashwords work for us.  Other people have done it, so I can too.

 

Check out our shopping page for the links to where our books are still available!

5 thoughts on “Too Hot For Kindle?

  1. This is absolute Bull shit.
    And why I HATE amazon and why I don’t purchase ebooks through them. I refuse to support them when they nit-pick which authors they do and don’t like. Sometimes I can’t help it when I need to order material things from them but for ebooks and music I refuse to use them.

    Though, It’s my loss if authors don’t sell at other sites like smashwords or ARe but I Fucking hate that they do this to some authors and not others and only when THEY “deem it inappropriate” when another book of the same “content” is already up there and fine.

    *sigh* I’m really just F-ing sad that this happened to you. *sigh*

    • I would rather not sell on Amazon, but the problem is not everyone thinks like you. It is unfortunately the place where we make most of our sales. I’m thinking I’m going to go through Smashwords distribution for Amazon from the next book on, just because I don’t want to have to deal with this BS anymore. We did get it sorted, this time, but it took days & days of emails, none of which actually told me WHY we were banned. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

